“I am learning to love the sound of my feet walking away
from things not meant for me”

A.G. via awelltravelledwoman

There are days when the clouds seem heavier than what is on my mind or heart and the world seems to be conspiring against me. Then all of a sudden, a lost grey goose swims up the river in front of my home and honks happily the rest of the afternoon, driving all the ducks and birds (not to mention cats) absolutely nuts. I found it hilarious the first couple of hours, but when the darn honker decided he was lost and unhappy with the world and continue to honk the rest of the night, I decided he was a psychotic goose and was ready to wring his neck.

“I am thankful for all the difficult people in my life,
they have shown me exactly who I do not want to be.”

anonymous

I never know what to expect when I open the window in the morning. Today it was cool and windy at 13C, yesterday I seriously considered buying an electric fan because we hit 30C with clear blue skies and long hours of sunshine. There are pros and cons to each type of weather. The river was full of boats, of all shapes and sizes, and people in them traded their jackets and caps for swimsuits and suntan lotion. Today, the jackets were back on but the cats decided to come out to play instead.

19.5.17d
Temporary ©MTHerzog

A fellow photographer taught me how to appreciate clouds some years ago, and I haven’t forgotten the lesson. It has come in handy on more than one occasion and not just for photography, but for life lessons. So what if I received as many rejections as applications I sent out during the house hunting phase… eventually my sun shone on my little haven. Do I mind that my shipment containing my furniture is arriving a month later than originally scheduled? Not really, because glamping is turning out to be very educational. Does it matter that I seem to be too old or too exotic or perhaps even under qualified to find a job in today’s German job market? Not at all. Deep down I know the right thing will float across my river and honk out loud for me.

“I never lose. Either I win or I learn” 
Nelson Mandela

The thing to keep in mind about dark gloomy clouds is that they never hang around for very long. It’s all temporary and before you know it, the sun silver lining shines through. So there is no use getting all upset about the rain that ruined my plans. I just had to learn to play in the rain. As another photographer taught me, just change your exposure and shoot the raindrops instead.

