A friend shared this “The Older I Get” list of items with me this morning, with which I identify with completely:

  1. I talk to myself because I need expert advice
  2. Sometimes I roll my eyes out loud
  3. I don’t need Anger Management. I need people to stop pissing me off.
  4. My People Skills are just fine. It’s my tolerance for idiots that needs work.
  5. The biggest lie I tell myself is “I don’t need to write that down, I’ll remember it”
  6. When I was a child I thought nap time was punishment. Now it’s like a mini-vacation
  7. The day the world runs out of wine is just too terrible to think about
  8. Even duct tape can’t fix stupid, but it can muffle the sound
  9. Wouldn’t it be great if we could put ourselves in the dryer for 10 minutes and come out wrinkle-free and three sizes smaller?
  10. “Getting lucky” means walking into a room and remembering why I’m there.

To which I add my following items:

  1. Music means balm for the soul, not something to wake the dead
  2. Food comes in many forms, but the one for thought is what I value most
  3. Time is what we don’t have enough of, so it should not be wasted on work and aggravation
  4. There is no special day to use the good dishes, every day that you can get out of bed and stand on two feet is special
  5. You can’t take money to the grave, so don’t fight over it

Growing old is a natural process that cannot be stopped. The wrinkles will come, the white hairs will appear, and the children will grow up and move out, but these are things to be proud of, proofs of a life lived, experiences gained, and lessons learned.

Middle Age is that obscure place we feared as teenagers and wish we could return to as senior citizens. It is that metamorphosis of emotions and perspectives that make us realise that the time to put our Self first has come and chase those dreams we have shelved.

So yes, the older I get, the better I get to know myself, which is a good thing before I forget who I am and why I entered the room!

 

 

